Are there medium to high brightness floody lights?

501 sea

Newly Enlightened
I suspect many lights with a medium to high lumen output (say, approx 600 to 3,000 lumens) are mainly used for searchlight-type of purposes, so I would imagine that lights in the brighter ranges would primarily be "throwers" with little "spill".

I'm thinking, though, that it could be useful to have bright lights with plenty of spill, to see what's going on off to your left and right (and above you), as well as a diffused hotspot.

Are such floody medium and high-brightness lights that sacrifice a lot of throw distance to provide good spill difficult to find?

bietjiedof

Newly Enlightened
I'm still a newbie here myself but... welcome.

My 2c - it depends how much spill you want. Some flashlights, like the Fenix PD32UE have a large hotspot, and a bright spill, so they light up a large area (and make great bike-lights!) If you want a totally even light, with no hotspot or spill, look at the LED-Lensers, which have an optical zoom system so you can adjust the diameter of the beam. Some lights, like the Crelants, allow you to unscrew the reflector-heads and expose the LED, so you can produce a hemisphere of even light (an electronic candle!). In some (all?) models you can remove the parabolic reflector and re-attach the head, so you have a reflector-less flashlight, but the LED is protected against knocks and the light is somewhat constrained by the housing (I think I've seen this referred to as a 'mule'). Like I said, it all depends what you're looking for.

501 sea

Newly Enlightened
Hi, thanks for that. I had seen Led Lensers on the web before, but I didn't know that about Crelants, even though I had been visiting their website very recently.

TEEJ

Flashaholic