Opening the light to re-center the emitter. Is this generally hard (and wise) to do?

Marconelly

Newly Enlightened
I have recently purchased Eagletac SX25L3, and upon receiving it, realized that the emitter is somewhat off center. I don't have the batteries yet to test if the pattern is visibly offset because of this, but I won't lie, paying so much for a flashlight and then seeing an imperfection where it matters the most is already annoying. It's like buying a camera and getting a scratched lens or something.

Now, I know I can ask the dealer for a replacement, but I also know they will charge me the shipping for the return, and I'll have to wait a week or so for the back & forth, so I was considering that it might just be an easy fix to open the light up and recenter the emitter. However, I'm a complete newbie when it comes to this, I don't even know to which lengths these manufacturers go to lock the access to the emitter. Will the dust get in when I open it? Is it all glued together so I would have to break it apart? Do they get the air out of that chamber while closing it up so it's kept in a somewhat of a vacuum? I have no idea. My experience is only really with cheaper lights that you normally can just unscrew the head off and get to the lamp that's inside to replace it if it burns. This particular light has four small screws visible in the underside when you unscrew the head, so if there's typically no glue involved with Eagtac lights, maybe I can just unscrew them and access the emitter. But then will I be actually able to move it at all, or is the emitter itself usually glued to the heatsink (using glue there seems like a terrible idea to me, but what do I know)?

reppans

Flashlight Enthusiast
Opening the light to re-center the emitter. Is this generally hard (and wise)...

Leave it, doesn't really affect the beam unless it is way off (which I doubt). You'll void warranty, get dust inside, fingerprints/scratches on the reflector, etc.

RubiconSS