Fenix RC40 maintenance

Maxam

Newly Enlightened
I have (literally) just ordered a Fenix RC40 torch which should by all accounts be arriving on Tuesday. I was hoping the wonderful people of the CPF may be able to advise me on how properly to look after it?

Particularly, I was hoping to find out how I might best preserve the battery, for example: when charging is it okay to leave it plugged in or should I always unplug when it reaches full charge?

I'm a noob to high spec torches and don't intend to be paying this much for another torch in the near future so I'd really appreciate any other advice you guys think would be helpful to ensure I get the maximum life out of my purchase.

Thanks in advance,

Maxam

kj2

Flashaholic
To be on the safe-side, unplug when the battery is fully charged. When not in use for a longer time, remove the battery. Charge the battery at least, once every 2-3 months.
I assume Fenix will have a part about this, in the included manual. But especially, enjoy your light :)

ven

Flashaholic
Not sure on this but i am sure others could advise,you might be able to lock out when not using,little twist of tail cap so no drain on cell.

Check threads are clean,always worth cleaning once in a while too and a little lube,helps O ring life,helps keep water out and makes the threads a little smoother.

Yes read manual,may suggest to run cell down and charge a cycle periodically for cell life(olight does on the r40 iirc).

Congrats and enjoy:D

Maxam

Newly Enlightened
Okay, whats the deal with charging the battery, should I wait until its fully discharged before charging or is it okay to top it up? Equally, should the cells be fully discharged to zero before charging?

ven

Flashaholic
When it comes in mail it should be around 40% charged at 3.7v,so charge up straight away.The light will have warnings on it before over discharge .....