5x Cree XM-L dynamo light (in progress)

Edocaster

Newly Enlightened
Hello all!

I mentioned in earlier threads that I would detail my build of a dynamo light using Pilom circuit number 9 (http://pilom.com/BicycleElectronics/DynamoCircuits.htm#DualMode) and an existing light head unit bought from eBay.

It's nowhere near ready, but the purpose of starting this thread is to ask a couple of questions (at the bottom).

My reason for attempting the light was the challenge (I'm an electronics noob), and I also had great results with a simple (but so far very reliable) 2x XM-L dynamo light based on a Solarstorm X2.

Here's the unmodded light head:

Here's the circuit. I read about how some people found voltage doubler mode redundant, but I plan to use it most of the time, hence the high LED count:

I've mostly finished with the breakout box, which was laid out like this:

A quick test connected to my dynamo wheel (driven by another bike wheel) showed the circuit works almost exactly as the Pilom site predicts. This was partly the goal for me, as I saw at least a couple of threads in bike forums where people doubted a dynamo could produce such output. I went for conservative component values, but am still getting a peak of 7.9W! By the Cree charts that's over 1000 lumens on the bench! :twothumbs

So far, it's looking really promising. Now the questions:

- Will my standlight circuit work? I've not used the last two LEDs in the string, but rather third and fourth. Does it matter (i.e. that they are one more LED raised from the ground rail), the circuit path should be to the other supercap terminal and not to ground, right?