Wanna make my first p60 type drop in!

KAMM

Newly Enlightened
But I need your help! I also don't post much so hi! :)

Here are my questions:

1. Where's the best place I can buy all that I need? Like the empty drop in and driver board?

2. Is there a driver board that's easy to solder because I'm a beginner?

3. Is there such thing as making your own driver board?

4. High quality to low quality. What are some examples as far as parts?

5. Things I need to look out for and/or be careful and mindful of?

Thanks guys!

DellSuperman

Flashlight Enthusiast
But I need your help! I also don't post much so hi! :)

Here are my questions:

1. Where's the best place I can buy all that I need? Like the empty drop in and driver board?

2. Is there a driver board that's easy to solder because I'm a beginner?

3. Is there such thing as making your own driver board?

4. High quality to low quality. What are some examples as far as parts?

5. Things I need to look out for and/or be careful and mindful of?

Thanks guys!

Hi KAMM,

1) Google Mountain Electronic or International Outdoor shop.
They sell all the better components needed for a P60 dropin.
For other reseller website, Fasttech & DealExtreme carries quite a fare bit of sfuff as well.

2) Soldering takes some skills that comes with practice. So yeah, practice a little & be prepared to spoil some components in the beginning. Which comes to the next point, buy some spares in case u damage the components.

3) I am sure u can buy I have no idea how to or who can. Haha.. sorry!

4) As far as i am concerned higher quality parts for P60 are copper MCPCB (Notigon, SinkPad) & high temp wires.

5) Get a decent soldering iron, they make alot of difference. 50 to 60W should be good enough.
A simple clamp to hold your parts when u solder.

For P60, u will need a 16mm MCPCB & a 17mm driver.
For the reflector, a smooth reflector will generally gives u better throw and an orange peel reflector gives a smoother & wider beam.