LED flashlight to the rescue. Sorta.....

Woods Walker

The Wood is cut, The Bacon is cooked, Now it’s tim
I posted this in a non flashlight related forum but in someways the flashlight was really the star of the show. So will post it here.

One of the downsides of many primitive/marginal firecraft methodologies is the need to blow a coal into flames. Modern means does this heavy lifting for us. Just flick a Bic or strike a match. Bingo instant flames though that's no guarantee of a sustained fire. There are many ways to get a coal. Fire by magnification, Flint and Steel, ferro rod, transportation via another established fire etc etc etc. But very often it takes a tinder bundle to turn that coal into flames, kindling to catch those flames then larger fuel to sustain the fire. So it's clear that every part of the process is equally important. Even if some steps can be replaced with modern means failure is still a real possibility. I am no expert but failed enough in the past to know what can go wrong. A blind squirrel will find a nut once in a while. My primary goal was to turn a coal into flames without the traditional tinder bundle. Tinder bundles often consist of materials which are fluffed up to resemble a bird nest. What if dry cedar bark or other suitable tinder bundle materials can't be found?

Dang it was cold and getting more so. Forcasted to be yet another subzero F night. Seems that's all the rage these days. I like taking time to observe my environment in an attempt to overcome a natural tendency to screw up.

The snow is deep.

River mostly frozen over and undercut.

Those factors tell me odds are I might not so easily distinguish the river bank from actual water. Best to keep clear of that.

Leaves off the ground. I am going to need them.

Deer. I see this group around dusk at least twice sometimes more during my conditioning hikes in this area. They keep circling back only to run into me again and again. Each time acting like I was from mars.