New slider switch - where are they at?

markr6

Flashaholic
I've had this idea for a long time and I'm surprised no one has implemented it. Nitecore came close on the HC90, but I don't know of any other lights.

This would seem to make most people happy in the UI "war". One hand (finger) operation, either totally variable or 3-5 predefined "clicks" (so you could better estimate runtime), pretty much instant on to turbo and moonlight. No momentary, but since you could slide it so quickly, it almost wouldn't matter.

I guess the problem would be the space required underneath the switch, not being waterproof, and accidental activation. There may be a way around this but I'm not an engineer so don't ask me!

I "stole" a switch from a Dremel and Photoshopped it into the TM16. What do you think?

TM16_slide_switch.jpg

srvctec

Flashlight Enthusiast
I like the idea. It would be easier to actuate than a ring around the light. To make it waterproof, just use the same principal as the variable output lights using a ring- put a magnet in the slider button that in turn moves another magnet in the stem of the variable resister inside the sealed body. The only issue would be as you mentioned, the space required inside the light for such a design. To eliminate the possibility of accidental activation, just put in a recessed on-off switch independent of the slide control (the slide control would only be used for varying the brightness) which could also be a momentary switch.

ven

Flashaholic
I quite like the idea........well enough to have ordered an xtar d06 the other year(long story short the seller did not send it to me). So i have no hands on experience ,but still would like a light with that UI.

more_vampires

Flashlight Enthusiast
Why use a switch hooked to a magnet? We could go straight skin capacitance! :)

double tap here for strobe, swipe here for red auxillary, adjust main output by swiping here...

FRITZHID

Flashlight Enthusiast