Trying LED flashlights - I don't know what I don't know

Rick NJ

Newly Enlightened
Ok, I am a newbie with LED flashlights. I don't know what I don't know, so I like to learn from you folks willing to share your experience. I got a couple (two pairs) as my first (and perhaps only) step into the 18650 LED flashlight world.

I got these a pair of these two:

"Cree XP-G"
https://www.fasttech.com/products/1...dl-sa-006-1-cree-xp-g-r5-370lm-3-mode-zooming

"Cree XML-T6"
https://www.fasttech.com/products/1...xml-t6-5-mode-1000-lumen-zooming-led-flashlig

These I know:
Their construction quality is good for the price point and they are as bright as I expected.
- I know they are not putting out the lumens posted.
- I know for both pairs, the consistency are poor. The two XP-G are not as identical as each other. The two XML-T6 also doesn't perform as close to each other. (current draw delta is about 10%)
- I know I have very poor driver on them. The current draw is all over the map as the battery drains.
- I know the Cree XP-G is probably an XP-E if it is Cree at all, and Cree XML-t6 could be something else also.

Being a flash light newbie, what am I missing that I don't know? (as comparing to some of the "go-to" brand name stuff you got - the stuff you look for) Please tell me why you think they are no good because they are missing X or not doing X well. Tell me why they are "money wasters".

I am not sure I would get more. I have all I need for now - four for 3 of us with one backup. But just in case if I get an itch again come Christmas time...

My main uses are:
(1) Repair (pipes, whatever) in spots of the house where lighting is poor,
(2) Night hunt for cats - out looking for them before on-coming storm,
(3) When out for a walk at night.

Thanks for the input

Rick

Parrot Quack

Flashlight Enthusiast
But just in case if I get an itch again come Christmas time...

My main uses are:
(1) Repair (pipes, whatever) in spots of the house where lighting is poor,