Headlamp for kayaking at night

Marsel

Newly Enlightened
I'm a photographer and I have a number of Zebralights that I use for night photography, mainly because of the quality of the flood light.

In a few weeks I'll be going on a trip where I will be doing a lot of night photography in areas where I can only get to with a kayak. This means that I have to paddle for up to an hour in total darkness, trying to find my way in what's literally a swamp maze.

What I'm looking for is a powerful headlamp with a lot of throw, ideally working on AA's (because I have a lot of those that I use for other lights, radios, triggers, etc.), and preferably with a high CRI and a neutral to warm white tint (so that I could potentially use the light to light paint distant objects).

There are obviously many contenders, but it's a bit overwhelming.

I was looking at the H600Fc, but it's basically pure flood so my guess is that it's not going to shine very far. Also, I noticed that some of my warm Zebralights actually have a bit of a green tint to them, which I don't really like.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

desmobob

Enlightened
If you like Zebralight headlamps, the H600w MkII might fill the bill pretty well (other than running on an 18650 vs. the AA you mentioned as ideal). It has good throw, great adjustability and long battery life.

The Armytek Wizard has less throw, but a VERY robust build and higher level of water resistance. It would be my choice for kayaking. Armytek's Tiara A1 offers the same robust build and water resistance, and uses the AA battery you prefer. I'd pick the warm versions of these lights for use on the water.

Take it easy,
Bob

D6859

Enlightened
How about combination of headlamp and a throwier flashlight? Tie the flashlight around your neck so that it won't fall into the water accidentally.

I have both Wizard and Tiara A1 and I really like them both :)

ahorton

Enlightened