Question about new Ford F-150 premium tail lamps

dave_b

Newly Enlightened
Question for those who are familiar with the photometric design requirements of vehicle lighting. The higher trim levels of the new style Ford F-150 have a tail lamp that is a strip, which starts at the tailgate, runs horizontally around the corner, swoops down, then runs horizontally back around the corner to the tailgate, and the brake light is a square area inside the strip that illuminates separately from the tail strip.

My concern/question is that when you are directly behind one at night, you can really only see about 2x1" of that strip on each side. The part that wraps to the side of the box is not visible from the back, and is the majority of the area of the strip. It really doesnt make the truck that visible from behind in the dark. Now, I am an enthusiastic layman when it comes to this topic, but to me, these trucks dont seem to really make their presence known to the back. The area of the tail lamp visible from the rear is pretty much the smallest I have seen. Makes that little circle the Ranger generated seem like a spotlight.

Please educate me as to the merits or mistakes Ford has made with this design.

Thanks!
Dave

KXA

Newly Enlightened
I've wondered about this too. They probably meet some DOT/SAE regulation, but I really dislike them and find them to be way to dim (just like the engineers at Ford who created them). In my opinion they should be recalled.

Last edited by a moderator:

-Virgil-

Flashaholic