Newbie battery questions

Insulator Collector

Newly Enlightened
I'm a newbie who recently decided to upgrade some old incandescent mag-lights. That's when I found this site and started researching. But I still have some battery questions for which I've not been able to readily find answers...

• It appears there is a rechargeable version of the 123A battery, but I don't understand the variations. Is there a difference between a CR123A and a RCR123A? Could I use any of these in an old Surefire 6P? (Over the years I've spent far more on disposable Surefire 123A's than I spent on the 6P!)

• I just bought an Xtar VP2 charger. It does not appear to accept rechargeable 123A's. What is a recommended charger for rechargeable 123A's?

• I've read about LiFePO4 batteries. Can these be used in any application where I would use a more traditional Li-Ion battery? For example, will LiFePO4 batteries work OK in my Nitecore EC4SW, and in my old 6P?

• I note that Li-Ion batteries have two characteristics: mAh, and volts. I get the general sense that a higher mAh "holds more juice." But I'm not sure how voltage comes into play. Using the 18650 as an example, should I always buy the highest mAh and voltage for the longest lasting charge in a light such as a Nitecore EC4SW, or a Fenix PD35 Tac? Do certain flashlights work better with higher or lower mAh/voltage ratings?

Thanks in advance for sharing your knowledge.

Scott

ChrisGarrett

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm a newbie who recently decided to upgrade some old incandescent mag-lights. That's when I found this site and started researching. But I still have some battery questions for which I've not been able to readily find answers...

• It appears there is a rechargeable version of the 123A battery, but I don't understand the variations. Is there a difference between a CR123A and a RCR123A? Could I use any of these in an old Surefire 6P? (Over the years I've spent far more on disposable Surefire 123A's than I spent on the 6P!)