Nitecore d4 and charging rcr123a

TA_ls1

Enlightened
I'm a newb when it comes to chargers, and I have a question. I'm charging a rcr123a battery and for charging status under that slot, it says 4.18 v. Shouldn't it only read up to 3.7 v? Am I missing something?

CelticCross74

Flashlight Enthusiast
most 16340's charge to 4.20v. The 3.7v printed on the wrapper is I believe the minimal voltage rating I am sure more will chime in. Your d4 is designed to be able to tell what kind of cell is in each slot d4 "reads" the cell in each slot independently and charges the cells according to its chemical type and voltage capacity. Your d4 is working correctly and will cut off at what its programmed as a "safe" max voltage for each individual cell. Your d4 deemed 4.18v was the safest max voltage for the cell so it cut it off at that point which is fine.

KeepingItLight

Flashlight Enthusiast
Li-ion rechargeable batteries have a wide voltage range during use. Fully charged, most of them measure 4.2 volts. Fully drained, perhaps as low as 2.5 volts or 2.8 volts, although most of the energy is gone by the time you reach 3.0 volts. So the typical operating range is, say, 3.0v to 4.2v.

This puts battery makers in a quandary. How many volts should they say their batteries have? The answer they chose is use the "nominal" voltage, 3.6 or 3.7 volts, which is like an average. That is the number printed on the label. Some makers use 3.6 volts; others, 3.7.

This can be confusing, because there is another kind of lithium battery, the LiFePO2, that has a voltage range between 2.5 and 3.6 volts. Fully charged, they have 3.6 volts. Their nominal voltage, however, is only 3.2 volts. This latter number is the one printed on the label.

Yet a third kind of Li-ion battery exists. It is similar to the 4.2-volt batteries, except it can be charged higher. It is fully charged at 4.35 volts. Its nominal voltage is usually given as 3.7 or 3.8 volts.