How far do you turn your bezel?

LightHearted

Enlightened
Hi all,

Okay, according to my profile I'm still a newbie, so I guess that means I'm entitled to ask questions like this.

Many of my flashlights are turned on and off by twisting the bezel. I think I read somewhere that you should turn the bezel 180° to turn off a light. Why? It's much more convenient for me to just twist the bezel only slightly beyond the position where the light goes out. Most of my lights have a significant amount of friction in the head so that they are not likely to turn themselves on if brushed or knocked around. Is there some chance that the battery could drain if the switch is very close to being on?

Please tell me, how far you turn your bezel and why.

Thanks,
Ken

SilverFox

Flashaholic
Hello Ken,

As Al says, Welcome to CPF.

I believe the major concern is to insure that the light will not come on while you are carrying it.

Another consideration is that there is an electrical path through the threads. By turning 180 degrees, you clean that path a little each time you turn it on. A good connection means a brighter light.

Tom

fivebyfive

Enlightened
I keep my pt-40's bezel so that I only have to turn it about half an inch or so to turn it off or on. It's easier this way to operate this light because as you said, there's a lot of friction. As for the bezel being so close to the ON point, I don't think this has any effect on draining the batteries, so long as it doesn't turn on. I haven't notice any unusual drops in battery voltage.

LightHearted

Enlightened
[ QUOTE ]
Size15s said:

I guess it would help us to know which flashlights you are referring to.

[/ QUOTE ]

Why would the particular type of flashlight matter? Well, okay, here goes: The lights that I own that twist to turn on are PT Rage, PT Blast, CMG Infinity Ultra, Dorcy AAA (tailcap turns), Mag 2A and Mag solitaire (purchased these before I knew which way was up).

Thanks again,
Ken

itsme1234

Newly Enlightened