How do you use your P60 dropins and hosts??

liteboy

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm totally new to this so please bear with me. This will be my next light platform and doing my due diligence. To me, the benefit of a dropin versus a fixed light engine is the ability to swap the emitter using the same host, correct? This is ideal for me, because, I don't really want to buy a lot of flashlights for different purposes (well, a lot is relative term I guess). I'd like to buy a nice host, then I can buy different dropins with different tints, outputs, flood versus throw, etc, etc. Am I correct in saying this?? Please tell me. Also, do you guys who have these, frequently change your drop-in? or does it become a pain, so the drop-on/host essentially becomes a fixed light? Looking forward to your collective thoughts, thanks!

bykfixer

Flashaholic
You will likely get varying opinions.

Some like to have a small number of lights and play Lego to swap parts and pieces around.

Others buy a host for each module they acquire. That way at a glance it is more likely they'll know what to expect when the button is pressed.

Different strokes for different folks.
I chose the latter partly because I'm a collector who enjoys a variety and partly because the 70's were a lot of fun, but my memory now suffers.

"Hmmm let's seeeeee, which drop-in is in the 6P this week?"
2am, nature calls... all is completely dark. Reach for 6P.
Click "Oh crap the monster is in that one! I'm blind. Can't see!!!" (Crashing into furniture sound follows)

Last edited:

Str8stroke

Flashlight Enthusiast