Why No Runtime Graphs?!

vsiddhartha

Newly Enlightened
Hi all, new user and first post here.

I'm looking to buy my first LED flashlight and specifically looking at the 1AAA models,something I can have in my pocket all the time.

As an engineer, I like seeing the lumens/candela/run-time specs but am pretty disappointed in the lack of availability of lumens vs. runtime graphs. You hardly get the full performance picture without these graphs and in their absence, the lumen/run-time specs can be downright misleading. Streamlight appears to be the only manufacturer I've seen that provides these on their website (in the fact sheets), which I love.

Take for example, the similarly-priced Pelican 1910b vs the Streamlight ProTac 1AAA. Both are 1AAA alkaline-powered, but the Pelican claims 106 lumens with 2.5 hours runtime and the Streamlight claims 70 lumens with 0.5 hours runtime. I'm aware of the FL1 standard and that the runtime is duration to 10% initial output. The question is, how can the Pelican have such apparently drastically better performance? In my mind, either:

A) The Pelican is taking advantage of much newer/better LED or regulation technology; or

B) The Pelican is deceivingly reporting runtimes with a lithium AAA battery; or

C) The Pelican is playing games with the light delivery over the course of the runtime, which would be apparent on a runtime graph (that is not available on their website).