**Newbie starting Project and Needs Help!!

S

Scottee

First off I want to let you guys know that I am fairly new at the whole electronics scene so be gentle. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif I need to make a fairly small board filled with 5mm LEDS (roughly 50-100). What would I need to make this work, and how would I wire it? I will eventually be connecting this board to the brake light power supply in my car, so that the board of LEDS light up when the brakes are applied. What kind of resistors would a person need to keep this board of lights from frying? Any wiring ideas or help would be great. Remember that this is new to me but I catch on quickly. I am really stoked about this project so any input is appreciated.

This is similar, only alot smaller.

Did he do that right, or is there a better way to do what I am trying to do?

INRETECH

Flashlight Enthusiast
Since the LEDs don't run on 12v, you need to put them in groups to try and get them as close to 12v as possible

I assume you are going to use RED LEDs, since they are the most cheapest and most eff, they run on approx 2.8v each, therefor - you would need 12/2.8 or 4 of them in series

This comes to approx 11.2v, so you need to "get rid of" approx .8v, actually a little more since most cars system can go as high as 14v

Now, we use good-old Ohms law to calculate the resistor

I=E/R or R=E/I

R(Resistance) = E(voltage) / I(Current)

We need to get rid of approx 1v, and you should always run the typical 5mm LED at 20ma; so the formula would be

R=1/.020
Or
R=50 Ohms

Since 50 ohm resistors might not be available, the next jump should be 52 ohms