Bad Luck With Streamlight Lately

Nephron44

Enlightened
Hi all!

I've been using Streamlight products for about 6 or 7 years, and I own about ten of their lights and have given many more as gifts. The lights have not given me much trouble until recently.

First, the switch on my Protac 2L went bad; just up and quit. Then the switch on my Protac 2AA started getting spotty and unreliable. Third, just yesterday, the switch on my Protac 1AA wouldn't work at all until I unscrewed it and screwed it back on a few times. Lastly, today I was using my Microstream USB to look around the basement, and after not even a minute on the lowest setting, it was almost too hot to hold!

Streamlight repaired my 2L and sent me a new switch for the 2AA. I haven't sent in the 1AA or the micro usb yet, and I'm wondering if I'll even bother. Has anyone else had the same bad luck I have had? I hope this isn't going to be the norm.

Should I start looking at other brands? I have a few Surefires that have never given me issues, and oddly enough, my old mag lites are still going strong after over a decade of hard use.

Thoughts?

Thanks!

Modernflame

Flashlight Enthusiast
Sorry to learn of your troubles. I'm not too familiar with the brand, but I'd stop using that microstream USB immediately. Any time a light gets unnaturally hot, that's a signal that something's gone wrong with the battery. Could be potentially dangerous.

aginthelaw

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm pulling mine out as soon as i get home to see if i see what you're seeing. See ya later...

DUQ

Flashlight Enthusiast
Nothing new. A few years ago I purchased Streamlight Juniors for my the lads at a previous place of work and we had 75% switch failure rate. Streamlight took care of it but then the replacement switches started to fail. We basically tossed the Juniors in the scrap metal bin. Replaced them with Pelican 2360's.

P_A_S_1

Flashlight Enthusiast
Had an issue with a charger frying and their CS was very good.

Nephron44