Surefire 9an commander - battery replacement

Ibanez

Newly Enlightened
Hi All

I have inherited a surefire 9an commander with a original charger and two B90 batteries. From a brief bit of research, I am aware that the B90 battery is no longer in production and had problems during its production run. I have attempted to charge the two B90s and they do not hold their charge longer than 10-15 minutes. The torch and bulb(s) work well.

I am a complete newbie when it comes to these types of torches. I'm also UK based. When I attempted to order a direct replacement from the US, the shipping fees were around $200 for a $20 battery, so that was not an option. I'd be grateful if I could receive advice on whether:

1) There is a reasonable replacement for these batteries in the UK (or reasonable shipping);
2) If there is a replacement I can buy (ie three batteries in series; and
3) If there is any other option that I have.

As I said i have no knowledge of torches so if all repsonses could be in "noob" language i'd be grateful.

I am a keen photographer/hiker so I would like to get this torch back up and running, as a sturdy torch such as this one would help out loads for when i'm out at night.

Look forward to receiving your advice.

Sam

archimedes

Flashaholic
.... As I said i have no knowledge of torches so if all repsonses could be in "noob" language i'd be grateful....

Here is what I just tried ...

In the upper right of every page on CPF, there is a small "search bar" next to an icon of a magnifying glass.

I entered "SureFire 9AN" to start, but adding or removing terms may sometimes be needed.

In this case, 6 of the top 7 entries appear to discuss upgrade / conversion / modification of this item.

Reading through the relevant threads provides a variety of options.