Luxeon questions

Wits' End

Flashlight Enthusiast
Remote NEast Minnesota, next to Lake Superior
From looking at some of the posts on the Luxeon it seems that it is the way to go for any application where light output is the main consideration. Can anyone help with a few basic questions? Actually I'm looking for answers I've got questions, but if I'm asking the wrong ones let me know.
I'm not technicaly inclined so I'm trying to go with direct from battery juice.
Can it operate on 3 volts, Actually two cells?
Would running two in series from a 6v lantern battery or gell cell work?
4 from 12v deep cycle or gell cell?

MrAl

Flashlight Enthusiast
I dont think they run very bright on only
3 volts, and besides, once the voltage runs
down even a little the brightness would
die out even more.
Normally you need a step up circuit
like the one in the Zetex thread, or else
using 3 batteries in series with a dropping
resistor. My guess is that you need maybe
1 to 3 ohms for the resistor. Perhaps
someone else has already done this and has
a value worked out?

Good luck with it,
Al

Quickbeam

Flashlight Enthusiast
Actually, I think they run plenty bright on just 2 cells.

I have a 3V DoubleBarrel mod with a luxeon star on the Mods pages on my site. Click the graphic below. My mod, running directly off the batteries, was about as bright as a 2AA minimag. More than enough for negotiating a dark house or apartment.

Of course, the more voltage you pump through these things, the more amperage they draw and the more heatsinking (and ventilation) you'll need. I find that 3V is about has high as I can push my luxeons without excessive heat building up in a sealed flashlight head.

My site's Q&A pages has some info on the luxeons as well.

Al

Enlightened