Inside the princeton tec LED headlamp module

D

**DONOTDELETE**

I have a number of princeton tec LED headlamp modules that I use for caving, night hiking, etc.. and I got an Attitude for christmas, which is about 5x brighter. Looking at the two, the LEDs themselves seem similar but there is some circuitry on a board in the headlamp module where the attitude only has a resistor.
The headlamp module is made of foggy plastic so its difficult to see inside so I took an old one apart. I figure everyone would enjoy pics while I had it open, so here they are.
smile.gif

this module sat underwater for a weekend this summer.. fell off my dock and took me a while to get it back. It it a bit corroded but still works fine and is as bright as a brand new one. I have been thinking of bypassing all the electronics alltogether an using a resistor, or no resistor for some added brightness. Any thoughts?
I'm not an electrical engineer, so I cant be sure, but this looks like an oscillating circuit to drive the LEDs?
Here are the pics:
first pic (small)
first pic (big)

second pic (small)
second pic (big)

third pic (small)
third pic (big)

Edit:
Looking at the pics, I realized I left the chip out.. here it is:
Chip

snake

Enlightened
Hello Haribante,
I only have an attitude, and I agree with you that there is a great different between the module and the attitude!

besides for attitude, I like my 2AA mag LED convertion better, cos it has some "focus" power over some distance (by drilling a 5mm hole on the original 3mm hole on the reflector, so that it work just like the original mag bulb), where attitude can't compare with it over 10ft !

D

**DONOTDELETE**

while tinkering around with the LED board, taking readings, etc..
I tried turning the little pot on the front side of the board.. and the LEDs got MUCH brighter!!!