LED ques for LEOs & other security professionals

CQB

Enlightened
hey there!

I tried to search before posting so forgive me if this has already been discussed before (and I'm guessing it has). =)

During night patrols as a security officer, I find my INCAN lights (ie. SF 6p, G2, 8AX, C3, etc) provide me better light for "threat recognition" than my LED lights. Reason being, there are countless sources of light pollution on property during a typical evening. So when I am approaching, say, a suspicious person(s) who appears to be either urinating on property, or dealing drugs, or trying to steal someone's vehicle, etc... my flashlight HAS to be able to provide us with as much information as is possible in terms of a threat assessment. And again, I find LEDs - even luxeons - lacking in this dept due to an LED light being "dilluted" by all these other light sources in the background.

Although, knowing that the bulb of an LED light will never pop IS a comforting feature.

So now to my question: What **LED flashlight(s)** have you guys (LEOs or not) used for threat recognition, on the job? I'm not talking about trying to read a map in your cruiser, or trying to write in your notebook and you needing a little light for help. I'm talking maybe doing an exterior perimeter foot patrol of a property at night, or maybe a general foot patrol at night in a downtown beat, or maybe even taking part in a night-time foot-pursuit of a fleeing suspect, you get the idea.

Have some of you guys tried the almighty EL TriStarPhazer - although it isnt the smallest light out there. Or maybe some other LED model? Or maybe most of us stick to INCANs for this type of task..?

Thanks for sharing your valuable experience with the less experienced, like me. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

be safe.
CQB

Jefff

Enlightened