2 x 123 Xenon

Osprey_Guy

Enlightened
2 x 123 Xenon

I first started talking about this over in the LED forum ForeSight Lights

I've been playing with this light ever since I picked it up this afternoon...and I gotta admit, it's growing on me...fast. Not in any way because of fit and finish, which seems to be only fair at best...but rather because of it's very bright light.

It's a 2 x123 Xenon, which sells for only $14.99 at Target. The more I thought about it, and the more I started looking around for any of the better known, similarly small sized (this one is only 4 7/8" x 1 1/8"), 2 x 123 lithium powered, 6 volt Xenons out there, the more that it occured to me that there really aren't all that many as yet.

With less than two months in the CPF, I'm still very new to all of this, and still fairly naive about what makes for a good flashlight...or at least what makes a flashlight good for me (I like small and bright). But it just seemed to me that with 6 volts powering a Xenon bulb, doesn't this light inherently have to be pretty bright? I mean...in spite of how cheap this is, with those specs, doesn't it pretty much have to be as bright as all get out?

I have no idea if ForeSight's claim of 1/2 million candlepower is even remotely true, but I do know that in terms of just out and out brightness, this light blows away my 3 watt Luxeon QIII! (which in fairness is more spill than throw). And it is dramatically brighter than my Dorcy 1 watt luxeon, which Flashlight Review rates at an Overall Output of 38.

The switch is a "twisty"...that goes intermittent by loosening the cap a little and pressing the rubber button. The reflector is not perfectly smooth, but rather has a sort of stipled effect (which I think I read somewhere, can be a good thing).