Pelican M6 vs Streamlight TL2 (xenon)

Stream

Enlightened
I'm considering buying either one of these two. They both look sturdy and well built, both run on 3V lithiums but I want a really bright flashlight so I'll simply be basing my decision on which one is brightest. According to the specs the TL2 has 114 lumens and the M6, 75 lumens. However, the M6 is bigger and has a bigger reflector. Does anyone own these two flashlights or happen to know which one is brightest?

PS: Please feel free to recommend any other similar lights within the same price range.

Thanks /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

oklalawman

Enlightened
I have the pelican and It is a good light. If you really want a small,cheap, bright light try the TL3. I have one and it just obliterates the pelican. It is rated 200 lumens.
In fact I had the pelican on my m4 carbine but it did not just have enought throw. The tl3 replaced it.

DimBeam

Enlightened
I am no expert but I seriously doubt the Streamlight TL2 or TL3 are rated at 114 and 200 lumens. I have often compared my G2 with the standard bulb to the TL2 and there seems very little difference in brightness. I think Surefire is more honest in stating their lumen ratings.

JohnK

Flashlight Enthusiast
Quickbeam rates the TL-2 at 59 total output, the TL-3 at 94 total output, and the Pelican M6 at 57 total output.

These are not "lumen" numbers, but are close enough IMHO.

The form factor is smaller on the TL's, save for the larger head on the TL-3. The TL's are my favorite Lithium incandescents, period. I sold my M6, too big, and slippery body.

The TL's also have a very useful clip, carry spare bulbs onboard (a huge advantage), and use inexpensive bubs.

bjn70

Flashlight Enthusiast