Modified vintage lights

Lowglow

Newly Enlightened
if you have done similar please do share as its great to see. I've been using one such light for a couple of years now and it's proved itself. Vintage build quality 👌.

I had this 1929 Ever Ready 'Portable Electric Searchlight' in with a box of other junk. Honestly it was finished. Done. The lens was broken, the bulb holder was bent, the switch was completely non-operational, the body tube was corroded with holes and the tailcap spring was AWOL.

But I wanted to make it live again and be better than new. Here's the finished light.
20231222_232745.jpg

As you can see I cord wrapped the body to cover the damage and filled holes - plus it gives it some comfort in winter.
I fitted a new spring - soldered for best connection.
20231222_232939.jpg

It was originally housing a spare bulb but all that part was missing, having corroded away. Oh well. Then I rebuilt the switch
20231222_232820.jpg

It's actually a really nice movement. Having the momentary button like a ball in which the switch slides over in a matching arch is genius. Smooth after repair.
The reflector was washed and then polished with a microfibre cloth and new glass lens fitted.
20231222_232922.jpg

As I wanted a bright, economic and long lasting beam I elected to fit a 6V, 10W halogen bulb. These are fine with a bit of overdrive when run with a 2 x 6aa ni-mh stacks (I got this from a CPF seller ages back) which has a charge port in the base.
20231222_233031.jpg

I'm honestly impressed how an old beater can still be so good. Bright (over 200 lumens), tough, easy to use, adjustable beam, charge up overnight ready to go again and cheap to run. Couple of beamshots. I'm happy anyway.
20231222_232626.jpg

20231222_232616.jpg

It's bright with a good fat beam. Vintage lights often perform much better than stock with a tasty bulb and modern batteries. No plastic to melt👌. Here it is pictured with a NOS one.
20231222_234430.jpg