What light to buy?

Mihlrad

Newly Enlightened
Hey guys, i was wondering if anyone would be so kind as to suggest a flashlight for me.

I'm a carpenter and i sometimes need to see into dark places, for example where i work now some areas do not have the lights installed yet. We usually will use the windows for sunlight or use floodlights but sometimes its a lot easier to just grab a flashlight if you need to do a quick check in a ceiling.

Basically i want a flashlight for no more then 20-30 dollars. It needs to be pocked size so it fits in my tool belt, like 4-6 inches probably. Most importantly i want it to be extremely bright for the size/money. Ive seen flashlights at like gas stations with 5 leds in them for 8 dollars but they don't impress me much and probably aren't quality like i need it to be.

I also was reading through the list of "High power LEDs" on the stickies and saw a few in my price range, but i sm not sure of how big they really are and which is the best for my money.

It also needs to be relatively durable in case it does happen to take a beating.
Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

DanielG

Enlightened
Go to Lowe's and look for the 2 Cell C Task Force flashlight by the register. Make sure it says "60% brighter" and take a look at the thread in this forum about the flashlight.

$30 and it is brighter than you really need and it burns quite a long time on 2 C cells.

Mihlrad

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for the speedy reply. If i have to i will resort to that light, but i was definately looking for something a bit more "compact" if you will then a C cell light. If there is a light that is smaller and i can buy and do a simple first timer mod on to make it better that would be great. But a light that is all set to go with no improvement would be excellent. (i saw some threads saying "you can just swap out the star with a Q5 or something)

Mihlrad

Newly Enlightened
anyone have some thoughts? i was looking at the jetbeam cl-e is that a good one?