I'm getting ready to begin a Mag623!

phatcenter77

Newly Enlightened
I mean Mag623! My first post and I already look like a fool haha!

First of all, I just wanted to thank everyone on this forum for the great information/products that they offer.

Secondly, my wallet already hates all of you :p.

I have been reading around for about a week, and have decided that I want to begin a build on a Mag623. I have done quite a bit of research and am starting this thread for a few reasons. One is to ask a couple questions before I begin purchasing/building. Also, I love threads with tutorials, guides and lots of pictures. As a CPF newb I found it very helpful to read others experiences and look at their pictures, so I plan to do that with this thread.

I have looked around and am planning on purchasing:

1. 4D Mag-Lite (I already have one).

2. LuxLuthor's 14.4v 12 cell Elite 1700mAh battery pack. https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/176185

3. AW's Mag D Incan Driver
https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/177316

4. fivemega's 12.7mm dual function reflector (with cam) and Boro lens.

As far as I can tell the battery pack that I linked is a good choice. I want to go 14.4 volts instead of 15.6 because the extra lumens aren't worth the added heat to me, about 20 degrees according to LuxLuthor's destructive incan testing. I could do this in a smaller host, but with the host and battery choice it is not necessary for me to bore out the host. I love the ability to select the output power with AW's driver, and the soft-start is another feature I like.

I have a few questions:

1. Is there another battery selection that would be better suited/offer longer run time?

2. AW's driver has the appropriate socket for the 64623?

3. I have heard that the 64623's beam isn't the nicest. How much would it hurt throw if I got the MOP reflector instead of SMO?

4. Where should I purchase the 64623 bulb?