I want a red LED thrower

The Wolverine

Newly Enlightened
I am new to LED lights. I am looking at getting a EagleTac T100C2 Mark II, or a TK11 for a white long throw weapon light.

I also hunt hogs at night, and need a red long throw LED weapon light. Can i modify a long throw white into a long throw red?

If I am going to modify it any way, can I start with a cheaper light off of DX?

Last edited:

kingofwylietx

Enlightened
I am not aware of any red led drop-in's available on DX. You'll want either a red lens (less desireable option) or a red led drop-in (most desireable option). Nailbender has P60 red (and green) drop-ins.....maybe others do too.

cmendoza

Enlightened
DealExtreme SKU 20333. Can add a smooth reflector or aspheric lens for even more throw. Both work well, the lens will throw a square.

Last edited:

smokeychris

Newly Enlightened
uhm whats up with the fake cigarettes?:poke: i get bi typing your code? SKU 20333

alpg88

Flashlight Enthusiast
it'll be a lot simpler to find a white thrower and put a red filter on it.

spencer

Enlightened
But a white LED contains so little red light because it is really a blue LED with phosphor so output will be dramatically cut. Better to start with a red LED.

mudman cj

Flashlight Enthusiast
Where corn and pigs are grown unimpeded by trees
Another option would be a Surefire L1 in red. The model number is L1-HA-RD. It is my understanding that they aren't made anymore, but are still stocked in some online and brick and mortar stores or you could put out a request on CPFMP. I have used one (modded it actually), and can attest that it had pretty good throw for its size. A search for the part number will turn up some websites with them still in stock (so they say).

Pacecar

Newly Enlightened
Look at the Sniper Hawg Lights red Destroyer model.
I believe it is a modified DX SKU 16538 light (UniqueFire HS-802).

The Wolverine

Newly Enlightened