Daylight vs 5000-6500K LEDs

Orion

Flashlight Enthusiast
This might have been discussed before,....but I was curious about something. Daylight has a Kelvin of 5000-6500. When I look outside, during the day,...it looks "warm" in color. But a flashlight with an LED that is 5000-6500 Kelvin looks more blue-ish and doesn't have that CRI color tone people like so much.

So.......you know...........what up with that?

alpg88

Flashlight Enthusiast
Spectrum. Daylight has full spectrum of visible light, artificial lights, especially leds have a very narrow band

aznsx

Flashlight Enthusiast
This might have been discussed before,....but I was curious about something. Daylight has a Kelvin of 5000-6500. When I look outside, during the day,...it looks "warm" in color. But a flashlight with an LED that is 5000-6500 Kelvin looks more blue-ish and doesn't have that CRI color tone people like so much.

I am no expert on this subject, but have found neither are some who think they are! Remember this stuff is somewhat subjective as well, so it can be tricky. You'll get as many opinions on this as there are stars in the sky!

I get what you're saying. I've found that I prefer a CT a bit warmer than I originally thought I would; usually between 4000 and 5000. 4500 seems a nice compromise to my eyes, although some look OK up to ~5500, depending on the LED. I get the blue cast you mention above that. In my experience, the 'ideal' can vary with the specific application I'm using them for (the environment and what I'm illuminating with them). Many LEDs (including some 'high CRI' examples) are also rather weak in R9 CRI, which doesn't help with the spectral balance, and that can factor into this.

Photos can be misleading, but this is the 'cheat sheet' photo I often use to reference, and have found it useful in determining the approximate CT of LEDs w/ my eyeballs:

That photo is from this source, so full credit to the provider:

Last edited:

idleprocess

Flashaholic