Opinions on upgrading my streamlight TL-2 led

dirtech

Enlightened
Here is what I'm working with.
IMG_2200Medium.jpg

IMG_2204Medium.jpg

IMG_2205Medium.jpg

IMG_2202Medium.jpg

First of all has anyone upgraded one of these? Or, can those of you experienced with modding your lights give me your opinion on the level of difficulty to upgrade this light? I have no experience with this stuff, thought I'd start learning on this one since I now have other better lights.

Anyone have any suggestions on the feasibility or any particular led I could swap in there. I think this has a luxeon led and I could use this led http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.2026. This would double the output to 80 lumens.

Last edited by a moderator:

DM51

Flashaholic
I have edited your post to put line breaks between the photos - without them the photos appear side-by-side, and people have to do a lot of horizontal scrolling.

dirtech

Enlightened
I opened it up and here is what I got.

IMG_2209Small.jpg

IMG_2208Small.jpg

There is no turning back now.

I have to figure out how to get that plastic bit out to see whats inside.

Also, if I'm going to put a new star in there I'll have to add some new wire as I totally ripped the existing wire off the star unexpectedly. I guess I should have desoldered the wires first before applying torque. I didn't think the star would move with the aluminum cap. Oh well.

old4570

Flashlight Enthusiast
Looks like there are some small holes in the plastic retainer ?
If there too shallow , drill them out lightly ..

Then with narrow nosed pliers [ grind them if you need the tips smaller ]
Unscrew the cap , or pull out if it does not screw in ..

Cant tell from the picture ....

So new LED + driver ..

what size driver will fit ?

dirtech

Enlightened