practical emergency daylight

wingsuitpilot

Newly Enlightened
Ok folks. Total newbie to the hobby here but I went straight to psycho for constructs. This thing is crude. 40 watts. No lenses, no optics beyond tapered machined bore. This is intended as just an emergency area light. 4x Optek 10-watts on a dual fancooled heatsink pushing 565 lumens each for 2260 lumens total. The whole thing was designed around the thermal needs of these monsters. No wonder nobody's using em in consumer appliances...120 degree spread plus an absolutely ridiculous heat conduction requirement. Without fans the heatsink gets too hot to touch inside of 35 minutes. But ya know, I had a power outage recently and I used this thing wired up on the bench to light the entire apartment like broad daylight. Doesn't seem to really need any optics for this purpose, it pukes out such a violent amount of light that focusing or containing it just seems superfluous. Having the emitter head anywhere in your field of view is like looking at a welding arc. Estimating 3 hour lifespan when built into a double-barreled dual 6-D maglight housing running 18V to 4 1000mA powerpucks. Pics as soon as I figure out how to post em.

Gunner12

Flashaholic
Nice! Love to see some pics.

To post pictures, you'll have to host your pictures on a picture hosting site like Flicker or Image Shack and then use the
insertimage.gif
button and post the link to the picture. Also the rules say no pictures above 800x600, so make sure the pictures are of the right size. You can link the pictures to a higher resolution one, bit no pictures above 800x600 on the post itself.

You might like this LED.

:welcome:

wingsuitpilot

Newly Enlightened
Ok you wanted it, you got it, lets see if this flickr thing works.