Which picture hosting website?

elumen8

Enlightened
I'm new to photography and posting pics in general, so I'd like to ask for recommendations on picture hosting websites. I don't want this to turn into a he said-she said of who is better, so if this is a bad topic please let me know. This may sound like a simple question for all of you, but I guess I'm a simpleton.

I'm basically looking for the simplest and most user friendly site for a beginner. I'll probably try others in time, of course. I'd like to be able to post some pics here.

I've heard of flickr, photobucket, imageshack etc...any opinions or help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

JB

compasillo

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm using imageshack and it works as is supposed to do (fine) but you should try yourself and check wich fit better your real neccessities/preferences, I guess.

gallonoffuel

Enlightened
FWIW, Photobucket is blocked through my work firewall for some reason, but Imageshack is not. I often view threads at work with large blank spaces and have to go home to see what people were actually talking about.

UnknownVT

Flashlight Enthusiast
It depends on what you wish to host.

For showing individual photos on forums -
I use primarily PhotoBucket -
but I also have an ImageShack account -
since both are free.

However to show albums of photos -
PicasaWeb mainly - but I also have
ShutterFly.
I understand Flickr is also pretty good however I found the Free account limiting for my usage - eg: limit to displaying the most recent 200 photos.

elumen8

Enlightened
Thank you all for your input. I wasn't even aware of the ability to show albums...proves how little I know. I originally intended only to post photos on various forums, but now I think showing albums would be great as well.

I hadn't heard of Picasa or Shutterfly...are they free also?

Are the free accounts limited to a number of photos or albums I can upload?

I'll look into all these sites.

Thanks again,
JB

UnknownVT