Doughnut question...

Robocop

Moderator, *Mammoth Killer*
Ok many of you probably laughed at this title as being a cop I should know all about doughnuts... :crackup:

Actually I know most all 5 watters have the doughnut void in the beam center however I have a 3 watter that has a pretty pronounced deadspot from about a foot or more from the wall. Is the doughnut in a 3 watt caused by the reflector or is it the emitter itself? If I can somehow space the emitter farther or even closer from the reflector would it help any? I was wondering if the doughnut was like the luxeon lottery with tint in that some are better than others.

JanCPF

Enlightened
Robocop,

I haven't done much experimenting with Luxeons, but I'm pretty sure that a void i conjunction with a Lux III is caused by a defocusing issue. I don't know whether the Lux sits too far out of or to far into the reflector though. Actually I don't think this can determined without trying to move it, as the doughnut void can exist in either case AFAIK.

Jan

AuroraLite

Enlightened
Robocop said:
Ok many of you probably laughed at this title as being a cop I should know all about doughnuts... :crackup:
:laughing:

I would think that this 'doughnut' is like what Jan said, caused by defocusing issue, since the same phenomenon is observed whenever I defocus my Minimag with Sammie and McR20/IMS20 reflector.

Also, if the reflector is originally designed for a incan light, the focusing point could be well above the opening of the reflector, and that could be a contributing factor for that.

One general principle I have found is whenever you look straight into the lux, and if the yellow reflection has filled up the whole reflector, then it is likely that your lux is in focus. If the yellow reflection could only cover a potion of the reflector, then I found that usually the yellow tightly surrounding the lux in the middle would yield the best result. :)

SilverFox

Flashaholic
Hello Robocop,