Need Help with the "Roar of the Pelican" Mod

adirondackdestroyer

Flashlight Enthusiast
I am new to modding, and have only done some simple stuff in the past, such as replacing LED's in Dorcy 1AAA and modding Solitaire's to use Nichia LED's, but I really want a super power Maglite and the ROP seems to be the easiest/best option for me.
Can someone help me with the general knowledge of the ROP. I have read all the posts concerning it that I could find using the search feature. What I have learned is:It uses a 4D or 2D Maglite (I want to use the 2D), and It uses a 24W bulb from a Pelican light, and is unbelievably powerful!!!
I think I know all of the parts that are needed for making this light, but it would be nice if someone could tell me EXACTLY what to buy, and possibly where to buy it from. Are these all the parts involved:

Maglite 2D
24w bulb
52.1 mm glass lens
metal reflector
3AA-to-D holders
rechargable batteries

Is this everything? Please inform me on this light, so that I know alot more.

Thanks alot:)

eebowler

Flashlight Enthusiast
ROP homepage.

Battery adapters from modamag

Cammed LOP and LS reflectors from fivemega

Camless reflectors from lightedge

or, you can get a few items from litho123 here.

The best batteries for a 2D mod are the CPB 1650 mAh, AA cells from cheapbatterypacks.com Although they lack capacity, they maintain a higher voltage under load than higher capacity cells.

Borofloat lenses can be bought from litho above or from flashlightlens.com (who's out at the moment)

Big D bulbs can be bought from brightguy.com

With the ROP mod, you may need a micra heat sheild. I'm not too sure about that. :shrug:

Last edited:

KevinL

Flashlight Enthusiast
No mica heatshield required - that one is a good for bipin mods, but the ROP uses a PR base, which seems very, very heat-resistant even with all the runtime I put on mine.

Thank you for the EXCELLENT writeup on where to get the components!