Help for aviation maintenance flashlight..

montexristos

Newly Enlightened
Hello to everyone!I have been browsing through topics here in this forum for quite a while,and I wanted to ask you a question..I am an aircraft engineer,I work on Boeing 737s,and I was always looking for a decent flashlight,it is essential for our work..First I had a couple of maglite 3D`s for 6 years.After I got sick of the stupid yellowish light they project,and the bulbs failing all the time,I had a nuwai TM-801X3 led flashlight from Amondo Tech which lasted only 10 months :thumbsdow..I still search for a flashlight,not a giant lantern,something that uses a led(which lasts many years),is brighter(or very brighter..:awman:) than a maglite 3D so I can do easy and relaxed walk-around aircraft inspections,uses strictly 2,3,or maximum 4 "D" size batteries or be a rechargeable flashlight,can be used for more than 8 hrs contineously for maintenance tasks,and can handle some abuse..I am thinking about getting two of the new K2 led bulbs from Diamond and get them to work on a 3D maglite that I still have(and serviced in the local mag dealer 3 times..)..So,dear friends and fellow aviation engineers if present here,what is your opinions and comments?I would appreciate it..:)

CLHC

Flashaholic
Greetings and Welcome Montexristos!

The drop-in Diamond LED such as the DB-3W is a good choice for the Maglites that you've mentioned. There is also going to be the newer Maglites with LEDs that'll be coming to the market any day now.

You can try the Streamlight 4AA ProPolymer Luxeon or even the Fenix series that the members here talk about. There are lots of information and lights available.

Hope you find what you're looking for and Enjoy!

dixemon

Enlightened
Welcome to CPF.