Aussie needs M*g mod help

4D223

Newly Enlightened
Hi all, hope I'm doing this right. I'm new to the Internet and "posting" stuff. I was wondering if someone could help me with making my AA & 3,4 D m*gs better than the feeble candles they are at present. Any help appreciated. Only 1 problem, here in Australia good stuff is hard to find. Thanks.

ACMarina

Flashlight Enthusiast
Welcome to CPF!! There are a bunch of options, from incandescent bulb replacements to LEDs and then there's always ditching the whole bunch and buying newer and signifigantly better lights (Don't let me kid, though, I still have a few Maglites around..)

Scythe_rr

Newly Enlightened
Try the niteize 3xled mod for the minimag aa, just got that and i'm quite pleased with it, not as bright as my gladius, but still good.
I can sympathise with your problem, england isn't a good place for a budding flashaholic either.

powernoodle

Flashlight Enthusiast
4D223:

Welcome.

There is a Mag85 recipe in this thread that tells you how to turn a 3D mag into a very powerful and highly regarded Magmod.

Or, buy a Magcharger light and stick in a WA1160 bulb, and you have a light thats pretty close to a Mag85 and much easier to make.

cheers

missionaryman

Enlightened
gday 4D223 & welcome to the CPF, glad you came here and asked.

there's heaps you can do with what you have there, if you have a look at this thread: https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/102531 (other than gripes & winges) there's a few handy names & links to people who can mod.

Also if you are in Sydney you can check this one out: https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/113390 even if you're not there's some handy pics to look at so you can get an idea, it's a rare mix of mods all in the one location.

Your AA can most easily be modded with an LED drop in like and SMJLED or a Terralux drop in or one of the many others available, there's even a wild incan hotwire available for it from Auroralite