M6-R LVR3i change from 6.8 to 7.5 volts ... also explaining DC RMS

wquiles

Flashaholic
I recently finished my own M6-R pack from the M6-R LVR3I PWM regulators and other components that js (Jim) made available for sale here .

As shown in those links, these regulators by Willie Hunt use PWM (Pulsed Width Modulation) and a varying duty cycle (percentage of ON vs. OFF cycles) to regulate the equivalent DC voltage that incandecent volts require for optimum performance, plus the soft start provided by Willie also helps in prolonging the life of the bulb as the inrush currents on a cold filament are much smaller, as shown here .

After building my own pack, I studied the schematics that Willie provided on his web site and concluded (at least initialy) that changing R4 "should" lower/raise the regulated output voltage.

I contacted Willie by email and he replied (thanks much Willie !!!) that indeed, changing R4 does what I expected, but that it also lower/raises the set voltage for the warning pulses from a depleted battery (also included in Willie's LVR regulator).

I tried measuring the RMS or DC equivalent voltage with several of my meters and with the built-in RMS voltage measurement on my high-end Tek scope, but none measured properly the approx. 6.8V output. I asked for help in measuring the RMS voltage, and Willie added that only the true high-end meters like Fluke Model 89 or 189 do measure true-RMS on the DC voltage scale. Basically, most meters (like my Fluke M87) only measure "average" voltage on the DC scale and true RMS on the AC scale, so the measure of the LVR's output will always be wrong (too low).

Following his instructions, I was able to measure the output voltage (which in fact was 6.8 volts!), and I therefore proceeded to plan making changes to R4.