First Surefire/need help with Legend LX

PJD

Flashlight Enthusiast
Stumbled onto this FABULOUS site through Brock's Flashlight pages. I was thrilled to learn that I'm not alone!!! The world is obviously full of "us"....Got my first Surefire in the mail the other day: E1GM. I was amazed by it's brightness. My wife's getting me an E2GM for my birthday...but that's not til July, and I don't think (I KNOW!!!) I won't be able to wait that long! On to my Legend LX problem...I'm impressed with this "poor man's Surefire"...I got it to pacify myself until I get my E2. However, the brightest light immediately surrounding the hotspot is oval; almost oblong. After looking at the perfectly round throw of my E1, this REALLY bugs me! Anything I can do to correct this? I'm a novice to flashlight collecting, and any help would be appreciated.
confused.gif

Gandalf

Enlightened
Rotating the reflector around the lamp, to find where it gives the best beam is a possibility. Also, carefully pulling the lamp out a half millimeter or so may (or may not) improve the beam. If you touch the lamp, do so with a piece of cloth, or gloves;
the oils from yo fingers can cause the lamp to fail
frown.gif
And, it gets *very* hot!)

My Legend LX gives a beam that's actually better than some of the lamps I've used in my 6P's.

I like the 'hot spot' in the middle, which is sometimes missing from 6P lamps. As far as I can tell, testing 4 lamps in two E2's, the hot spot is always missing from the beam from the E2.
confused.gif

PJD

Flashlight Enthusiast
Thanx Gandalf...you've obviously been doing this a lot longer than me!!! I'll give it a try. While I've got you on the line' can you tell me anything about Carly lamps?

sunspot

Flashlight Enthusiast
If you don't mind spending $17 you can put in a Surefire p60 lamp. One of our members (KT) did this and liked it.

Quickbeam

Flashlight Enthusiast