(FINISHED!) Modded KL3 (with a Cree P4 + McR27L)

Kyle.Crawford

Newly Enlightened
Hello everyone,

My first try at modding a light. I took a rather beat up KL3 + C2 + twisty and I am going to stick a Mc27L + LuxIII into the KL3. :)

I got bored waiting for my reflector/driver/led, so I started playing with my dremel on the outside of the head...because it was beat up and needed to be made prettier. :)

Sorry that they are too big...I am tired and don't feel like resizing again...

Finished the MOD!
Final product is a Cree P4 driven by a Downboy 1000 (yes...1 amp :)) in a slightly modified McR-27L that fits in my bored out KL3. Head does not even get excessively warm after extended use...and this thing is BRIGHT!
I used a new O-ring from a O-ring set i bought on ebay (hehe 407 O-rings of diff sizes. :)), so I have something like 20 extras.
One negative - I had to dremel down the lens...so it kindve got a little chipped and the head is not currently watertight...which is why the beam is a little out of shape. I am ordering a new lens form surefire...but they just want me to RMA the light...I tried to explain that I don't want it returned to spec, but they are having trouble understanding. :grin2:

NEW PICTURES!
IC9Y4363.JPG

IC9Y4364.JPG

The Below pictures are beamshot at ~2 feet (thats why there is slight dougnut). First is fully exposed, second is 2 stops under, 3rd is 4 stops (yes...four) underexposed. This thing flood like crazy and throws really nicely!
IC9Y4371.JPG
IC9Y4372.JPG
IC9Y4373.JPG

OLD PICS: (body still looks basicially the same).

IC9Y4317.JPG

IC9Y4318.JPG
IC9Y4319.JPG
IC9Y4315.JPG
IC9Y4316.JPG

Last edited:

LEDcandle

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: Modded KL3 (in process)

Looks nice and 'raw'!! The silver/black looks good. Why not try putting a Cree XR-E in there? :D