Nuwai Q3 Circuit Mod?

nauss

Newly Enlightened
I like the light but hate the battery usage. When the battery goes down to about 2.75v the circuit turn it off.

Is there a simple way to mod the board to give me full usage of the battery. And yes, I dont care if it gets dim.

Thanks all.

PS- I'm upgrading to something a bit nicer soon but want a backup.

Blindasabat

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hmm, There may be ways to mod the board to fix that and keep the boost it gives you (boost 3V to ~3.5V) but I'm no expert on curcuit mods, so I will give you just what I can think of. Which all include ditching the board.

1) Run it direct drive. Ditch the board and replace it with a basic contact board (has only a positive contact spot in the middle and negative around the outside (I think for the Q3?)) Put an appropriate resistor in line if you use RCR with a low Vf emitter. It will be dim if you use 3V primaries, but run a lot longer.

2) Replace with Goldserve's FluPIC board. Direct replacement for the stock board, but you will need to run RCR with this too. Benefit: you get multiple level programability, and strobe.

3) Simplest and cheapest: leave the bord in place, but just bypass or short the board with a jump wire to run direct drive. You can reverse this easily by removing the jump wire.

4) See if someone here has a spare board from the old Q3 that dimmed all the way down.

nauss said:
I like the light but hate the battery usage. When the battery goes down to about 2.75v the circuit turn it off.

Is there a simple way to mod the board to give me full usage of the battery. And yes, I dont care if it gets dim.

Thanks all.

PS- I'm upgrading to something a bit nicer soon but want a backup.

nauss

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for the reply.

Sounds like good advice. I'm no flashaholic but I like a good torch.

I had tested the duarability of the light a few days ago and gave it a toss in the yard. Of course, it hit a cement step directly on the button.