New to lasers

kooter

Enlightened
Im new to lasers, and have just bought a "wicked 60mw green laser". Do i need to use protective eyewear when using it?. How much more powerful than cheap toy lasers is it?. Any advice on anything about lasers much appreciated. :grin2:

Ashton

Enlightened
Yes, and 20. ;)

ok, to be mroe specific, a laser pointer is rated at <5mw, this is consideed safe because one can blink before damage occurs, so anything over 5mw needs protective goggles (unelss you're using it for astronemy, in which case, you're only pointing it at the sky and there's not hcance of reflection.

Keep in mind, anything at all refective can cause damage. even window glass: 10% refelection, 60mw/10 =6mw, 6 > 5, so it can cause damage! Though for a green laser you can get dewalt laser goggles for ~$10 I believe (thread somewhere below)

And, as said above, the "toy" pointers are 5mw, so your 60 is 60/5=20. it's 20x more pwoerful than a pointer. This sounds impressive, but you'll soon want a 100mw, then a 200mw, and before long, you'll be on ebay bidding on several-hundered-dollar 40-80 Watt CO2 lasers *smiles innocently* lol. Be warned, you just started an expensive and addictive hobby.

kooter

Enlightened
Thanks Ashton. :grin2: I had better get looking for these googles.

I dont need another expensive addictive hobby. I already have several, what have i started. :ohgeez:

Ashton

Enlightened
kooter said:
I dont need another expensive addictive hobby. I already have several, what have i started. :ohgeez:

lol, tell me about it, I do computer work, so 1 of my hobbies is self-paying, but then I got into lasers, and Also amature SFX work, not to mention a dozen other minor hobbies that are far from free...

It's sad, in a way... ohw ell. Glad I could help! and be careful with your new toy (remember with a lens you can burn stuff with it! and IIRC even w/o a lens you can pop sharpied baloons!)

Ashton

Enlightened