New Lumapower M1 . . not much difference between high and low?

mx125

Newly Enlightened
I'm new to these lights. I posted my stunned disbelief at the power and clean light of these new generation lights but had a question . . .

The difference (to my uneducated eyes) of the low and high settings using 2x123batts is surprisingly little. I notice an intensity difference but it seems small. Kind of like bright . .lots of light on low . .and kind of a 20% "super burn" step up on high. Is this normal? If the reality is that the eye can't detect lumen differences well. . . .then great! . . lots of runtime and still pretty bright. But I would have expected in reading the review numbers with less than half the lumens it would look pretty dim on low.

GMoney

Newly Enlightened
I don't own this light, but based on measured results by others (Quickbeam) its about 50 lumens on low and 120 lumens on high. This should be a noticeable difference, but no not mind blowing. If you are shining the light at a wall and looking at the hotspot the difference is most difficult to tell. Shining outdoors, or the ever popular ceiling bounce test makes it easier to perceive the difference in brightness.

To repeat what others have said before though less articulately....
Human eyes perceive light logarithmically. Something 4x as bright will only be seen as 2x as bright. It is the reason why the vast majority of run time tests are performed to 50% of the original brightness.

What this translates to with regard to purchasing a light is that one shouldn't deliberate over a 30 lumen versus 40 lumen light based solely on output. More important factors are beam quality/type, run time, and preferred power source, though now I am treading into the subjective...

mx125

Newly Enlightened