Knuckleheads, Lumens, Firetrucks, Hookers and Fire

ScottB

Newly Enlightened
Just kidding about the hookers. :D

My home is on top of a 200 ft desert butte with a small town on one side and open desert on the other.

Last night I took a look down the hill on the desert side and there were some teenagers with a small fire burning at the base of my hill with nothing but extremely dry/dead brush between them and my house.

Concerned that I might be accidently burned out of my home I decided to introduce them to my Sam's Club 35W HID. They were about 1200 feet away and I lit them up like daytime for 3 minutes and shut it down. Usually folks just leave when illuminated like this but these knuckleheads started shouting obscenities and built their fire up some more.

So I did something I have never done before. I called 911.

About a minute later 2 fire trucks pulled up on the road above these guys but could not locate them because they were down in a small canyon next to my creek.

I cranked up the HID again and shined it first at one of the firetrucks and then down on the knuckleheads who were still unaware of the fire trucks and were still hollering. The fire trucks drove down the dirt road and followed my beam and just appeared right above these guys about 30 feet away from them. The knuckleheads scattered and I followed them for aways with the HID while they ran in panic and shock hehe.

The firemen jumped out and put out the fire with a shovel. They gave me a double flash with their spotlight when they were leaving and I give them a quick shot with the HID (the HID was insanely brighter than the firetruck spotlight lol).

I'm still laughing about it 24 hours later. :D

CLHC

Flashaholic
Great experience here and thanks for sharing! Hopefully these "knuckleheads" don't come back and do something stupid all the more.

Enjoy!

ScottB

Newly Enlightened
Thanks.