Inova T2 (new model) gets warm?

zero

Newly Enlightened
Hi, I just purchased an Inova T2 flashlight (new model with flared head, 5hour runtime). I'm not really sure what type of LED is in it but after about a min of use, the top third of the flashlight gets pretty warm. It looks like a Luxeon K2. It's not so hot that I can't hold it but it just feels warm. Is it suppose to be like this? I couldn't find anything with the search. This is my first real flashlight so I'm a noob. Thanks.

Last edited:

passive101

Enlightened
That means the heat sinks are working well. It needs to get the heat away from the LED or it harms it.

I have an Inova t2 - the old style and it gets a bit warm with continued use but not bad. I also use the TIROS type T1 as my every day carry light and it's fantastic (Though the T1 is usually just for short bursts of light)

ZMZ67

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have an INOVA T1(2007) and it also gets warm if left on a couple minutes or more.It should be a good thing as that means heat is being drawn away from the LED.If you are holding the light your body should help absorb the heat also.The INOVA T series currently use Luxeon K2 LEDs hopefully they will upgrade since Lumileds now has the Rebel and is supposedly upgrading their whole lineup of LEDs. :welcome:

zero

Newly Enlightened
Ah I see, thanks for the replies. I was worried since I've always thought LED's don't produce much heat compared to bulbs but I guess that only applies to 5mm ones.

I ordered a Fenix P1D-CE which hasn't arrived yet. Can't wait :). I'm also thinking of getting the L1T v2.0 Rebel for an everyday general light cuz it uses cheap AA batts. I like the tail cap clickie and the fact that it only has 2 modes, don't need the seizure... er, strobe or SOS modes.

parnass

Flashlight Enthusiast