TnC Novice Requests Canister / Head Info

cd-card-biz

Enlightened
I am new to the TnC line. I recently purchased this light on B/S/T and am awaiting delivery.

I have always wanted to own an "X" bin Lux V light, but can not afford a used Superflashlight.

So, would it make sense to purchase an XYOS canister and SF 27mm head (Luxeon / Seoul) to fulfill my "X" dream?

How would the beam characteristics differ from the Q5 canister / head that come with the light I purchased?

I know the Lux V is older technology, but I have one in my U2 and L4 and they are two of my favorite lights.

Please correct me if this idea doesn't make any sense.

Many thanks!

jeffb

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have the very whitest X bin Lux V for sale

click here

Chris at Tnc, actually machined the SFIII's.

I just sold a "C" flex setup with a P4

here

The Cree "in theory", should have more focused "throw" than a Seoul or Lux V.

Like you, I prefer the Lux V's and I use a U2 or Mcgizmo HD45 LuxV or ElectroLumens "lil friend" for walking the dog and other tasks.

The Seouls have nice spill, but I still prefer Lux V.

If it were me, would contact Bogus1 (Eric) and ask if he could have a Lux V setup for your new C flex, built......I believe that you would need a different reflector, as well.

Good Luck!

Jeff

cd-card-biz

Enlightened
Many thanks jeffb. Yeah, I was drooling over your TnC Lux V for sale and I would love to have it. Unfortunately, I'm pretty tapped-out right now.

Actually, I have been reading a lot of your TnC posts and reviews of their different components - trying to get myself up to speed. You really seem to know their products.

I was hoping that because the light I bought has a C-Flex - SF head adapter, that I could just buy an XYOS canister from the TnC store ($85) and a 27mm Luxeon head ($62.50), hoping they were an appropriate match and would give me good results. I doubt that I could afford a custom build right now.