How to calculate direct drive (need info for P7)

chitoz28

Newly Enlightened
Hey everybody. Need info on how to calculate direct drive for a P7 (M*g host). Do I need resistors? What batteries are best/least expensive? I'm still very new to this and would like some help. As always, thank you all in advance for your help.

chitoz28

Newly Enlightened
Thanks Drewfus2101, yeah, I've read that thread before, it talks about drivers, but I didn't see on where it talks about direct drive. I know there's more that just hooking up some batteries, like volts, mAh, I just don't want to blow up a P7 when trying this. Thanks.

KrisP

Enlightened
Thanks Drewfus2101, yeah, I've read that thread before, it talks about drivers, but I didn't see on where it talks about direct drive. I know there's more that just hooking up some batteries, like volts, mAh, I just don't want to blow up a P7 when trying this. Thanks.
There's not really much else to it... 3 Ni-MH batteries, 1 P7 and you have light.

StefanFS

Flashlight Enthusiast

I did some direct drive Mags and my direct driven Tiablo A8 before I started using 'drivers':
https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/192740
https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/194753

As long as you limit yourself to three NiMH cells or one LiION cell, max 18650 or C-size, you are ok without resistors. The current from three NiMH can vary widely, depending on internal resistance, quality and overall condition I guess. Even if you hook up D size NiMH that initially might provide up to ~4A it should go down quick with direct drive. I recommend those drivers for getting flatter regulation etc.
Stefan

Al Combs

Enlightened