so much to learn

daribbler

Newly Enlightened
Hi guys, I'm new to this flashlight world. I always loved flashlights when I was young. I find myself always on this forum at home and at work. lol I did read some of the threads but I can't seem to find the right thread with the info I want. What I want to know is what led is the newer led...Q5 or P4. And how do you guys know what drop-in will fit? I was thinking about buying a cheap torch to start off with but I don't want something that I will get bored of or complain that the light isn't bright enough. Yes, I am the type that always wants the best. :grin2: So, I'm looking for a light that takes AA. This torch will be used for anything from search for my cat when it runs outside to walking through woods to a secluded fishing spot. I'm not too familiar with what the numbers mean in judging throw and lightbox. Sorry if my questions are noobish...well fact of the matter is that I am. lol

Ninjaz7

Enlightened
Nitecore Infinity looks like a good match...Q5 is a newer cree led that is quite powerful,also the fenix l1d 2.0 is worth taking a look at...gl and:welcome:

Grey Massacre

Newly Enlightened
Hello Darribler,

As a newb myself I will try to help you out! I just found out many members of another forum I visit are torches collectors so I decided to join the fun!

I not a flashaholic yet but during the last 3 days I have been reading countless posts, looking to buy a LED double CR123 torch and I am pretty set. One really good site regarding reviews is this one. You will find mostly the newer stuff on this site, very well organized and you can compare models.

Other references: Here and here.

As for a AA powered cheap solution I have been owning a CMG Infinity Ultra for quite some time (on my keychain), I would say close to 6 years and it is still going and doing the job for light illumination! Other than that I urge you to go on those sites or simply use the search engine, it is your friends.