Any help on variable intensity LED's??

camaroman

Newly Enlightened
Hey folks,

I am currently planning to make a set of LED boards for the taillights of my 1988 Iroc Camaro. I have some experience with LED's, mostly in model building. My question is this,... how do I make the LED's in the tail work at two intensitys? I.E..... when the headlights are on, they should glow at half intensity,... when I step on the brake pedal they should glow at full intensity. Are their special LED's I need to buy,... or what? Sorry for my ignorance here. Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks,

Jason

Marduke

Flashaholic
They make replacement LED lamps for tail lights if that's your end goal.

Varying the brightness of LED's is usually accomplished by varying the current supplied to them.

:welcome:

camaroman

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for the reply. I actually make replacement lenses, in clear and smoked colors. I'm looking to make a full board that goes behind each section of the lens with about 90 LED's in each section. I havent found anyone who makes replacement LED tails for the camaros, or I wouldn't be bothering.

The current to the LED's through the tails changed on its own when you step on the brake. How does that work with the resistors you have calculated to work with the LED's on your board? Do you just calculate for the high current of when the brakes are applied,... and the the lower current will automatically be dimmer because you wont be reaching the resistance point?

Thanks again in advance.

MrGman

Flashlight Enthusiast