What to do with maglite mini assembly ? Body got ran over

macguyver4u

Newly Enlightened
Hi all

I'm a newbie to candlepower happy new years to everyone. Anyways, my gf ran over my brand new 3 minimag flashlight that someone gave me as a x-mas gift. The head unit in perfect working order. I have a regular minimag and tried putting it i there the led come on but the problem is that the led unit seems to be a cm too long for the regular mini mag. I was wondering if anyone has any suggestion what is the best way to fit it in there. Should I grind the opening so the unit goes through and than make a larger opening for the reflector? Can the maglite led casing assembly be taken apart I assume that the electronics doesn't need to be as big as that casing.

thanks

P.S. does anyone know the link to the posting where someone made a circut so the mag led has a longer runtime? I spent 2 hours searching for that link but couldn't find it under the search option.

thanks ahead of time.

Gunner12

Flashaholic
I'm guessing it's the stock MagLED 3AA that got run over and you are trying to fit the LED module into a incan Minimag? I don't think it would work. The MinimagLED and the normal Minimag ahve a different body.

If you plan on using the module, even if it can't be used in the Minimag, now might be a good time to swap in a current gen LED(the Seoul P4 works best) for twice the outout with the same runtime.

As for the Maglite thing, I might be linked to in this thread.

:welcome:

macguyver4u

Newly Enlightened
I'm curious what did she run them over with? I've run over mags before and they just get scratched.

Must have been a tank.

She ran it over in her father dually bed was filled with at least a tons worth of concrete. One of the things I noted compared to regular mini mag is the alum body where the tail caps screws into is very thin compared to regular mini mag.

macguyver4u

Newly Enlightened