Help with surefire 3P

teaspook

Newly Enlightened
Newbie here looking for expert advice. First of all I am in the dark for anything flashlight related. so here it is, a buddy gave me a SF 3P he no longer uses.I put in a fresh surefire CR123 but the light isn't exactly very bright. I would like to try that DX R2 (rated 3.6V) drop-in.So my question will it work with 3V ( one cr123)? If not what improvement do you suggest? Thanks in advance

neoseikan

Enlightened
Hi. Just look at the specs, if they say: "over-discharge protected", then NO,
if not, you can use CR123A.

DM51

Flashaholic
Why not sell it, and buy something more to your liking? SF 3Ps are not common, and they fetch good prices in the MarketPlace.

Carpenter

Enlightened
:welcome:

As DM51 said, you can sell it, or you can get a different lamp assembly. There is a manufacturer on this forum that sells the perfect LED assembly for a 3P. Go to malkoffdevices.com and look under drop-ins for a M30. He has 4 different models to choose from depending on your taste. These will take your dull dim 3P with the R30 incan module and make it a 160 lumen pocket rocket. You as well as your friend will be amazed.

Ask around the forum, you will get nothing but :thumbsup: about these dropins. They are more expensive than something from DX (DealXtreme) but in my opinion, well worth the money.

gallonoffuel

Enlightened
I just built a 3P clone via Solarforce and FiveMega parts. I have a DX R2 dropin running it in. While it is significantly dimmer with a single RCR123 as compared to 2xCR/RCR123's, it will indeed run on a 3.0v primary. I haven't tested the runtime on it, but it does light up and is the same brightness as a single RCR123. The spec on the DX website says 3.7v, but it fired up at 3.0v.

Your mileage may vary, some settling may occur during shipping, consult your physician, etc.

Justin Case

Flashlight Enthusiast