Trying to rig a little more power..

cowboyway

Newly Enlightened
Hello, I'm a flashlight newbie, but I've been reading this board for a few weeks and I'm totally addicted to this stuff. Here's my problem, so I thought I'd ask some of you experts.....

I have a small LED light that mounts to my Compound bow. It produces 80 lumens. I need to keep the housing because it bolts to my bow, and it holds 3AAA batteries.

I really don't know what kind of LED is in it, but I'm wondering if I would be able to buy a more powerful LED bulb yet still be able to use my 3AAA batteries (I just don't see how anything other than the 3AAA's would fit in the housing).

If you need some additional info to lead me in the right direction, let me know. There is a similar light on the market that produces 180 lumens, but it uses one 18650 or two CR123 batteries. I just don't see how I could make that fit in my housing.

Thanks in advance, this is a great site.:twothumbs

cowboyway

Newly Enlightened
I wish it were that easy. Its tough finding something that will fit in a bow without getting your welder out.

After I posted, I was surfing around and came across this.

https://www.dorcydirect.com/p-104-41-4297-160-lumens-6-watt-3aaa-k2.aspx

It says that it is using the 3aaa batteries just like my light, yet its pushing 160 lumens. Would I just be able to either find out what kind of bulb is in it, or find an equivalent, and be good to go, or is it more complicated than that?

Marduke

Flashaholic
LED lights don't use blubs.

Most likely your mount is sized the same as a typical gun mount, meaning it's probably close for 1" diameter. There are MANY lights of that diameter. I recommend looking at some good 1x18650 size lights. The SolarForce L2, Fenix TK11 come to mind.

old4570

Flashlight Enthusiast
Q5 emitters come in the most diff star/base sizes ..
you can keep the driver , or pick a new one ..

The 3xAAA may be able to use a 18650 with a battery tube .